Am I addicted to the Internet?

http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2012/07/08/is-the-internet-making-us-crazy-what-the-new-research-says.html

Boy, this topic is one that I have been on for a while now. My youngest son was constantly in front of his computer or video screens and it began to affect his personality and eventually his health. I agree with Tony Dokoupil assessment of the effects of too much interaction through the Internet. It can become a compulsive excessive disorder (OCD), which my son has been diagnosed with. I truly believe that his constant preoccupation with the Internet and computer games has contributed to his malady. When we are constantly on the Internet we are disconnected from the realities of everyday life. We don’t have much social interaction with others in a personal and intimate way. When this is left unchecked, we start to become disconnected from others and society. “Reactive psychosis”, a form of temporary insanity, which Russell was diagnosed with, is something that probably millions more suffer with, but don’t realize it or won’t seek help. I really liked the article and I hope it will help others who need to break free from this problem.

4 thoughts on “

  1. kcarbaugh says:

    I am thankful when I have been mulling something over or have been thinking about it, that I am given written information to ponder and research. It fascinates me that this very subject has been on my mind a lot and now we are looking at it from many points of view. We will not understand the true effect until our children’s generation is our age, I think.

  2. dobsonjessie says:

    I agree that the more we’re online the more we’re disconnected from the world around us. Personally, all the social networking on the internet, and this global world we live in thanks to the web, drives me back into my local community. I find myself searching for a sense of community outside the web. That being said, I generally have my phone on me, so I’m never without access to the web if I want it.

    I have friends that I grew up with who live and breathe Facebook. Everything their child does or spouse does is posted. What they ate is posted. Things about their health, their day, their sleeping habits. It’s nuts. I’m glad I’m not a participant to that extent and I’m glad I usually catch myself questioning why people feel the need to do this so incessantly.

  3. On the opposite spectrum, I think it breeds egotism in many as well – instead of becoming depressed, people go to the other side and we can slowly see their vanity, conceitedness, and need for attention rise to the surface.

Leave a Reply

